To be Thankful…

I don’t want to get emotional, but it might be too late for that. Holidays are a time for reflection. They mark a year anniversary in your life and you can’t help but think how far you’ve come since the last one.  I’ve struggled financially. I’ve had times when I didn’t know how I was going to pay my rent, put gas in the car, and get groceries in the fridge. This was a year of transition for me. God’s way isn’t always carved out perfectly with a street map. It takes you to places where you have to rely on friends, family, not knowing where your next meal is coming from. The dreamers dreams often get shattered, which is the true test of your inner passions and strength. You learn quickly that you can’t do it alone, and success is relying on others sometimes. It’s a real ego breaker.

I’ve endured quite a bit in my life. I lost my mom, essentially a father, and have dealt with my fair share of assholes. In life I find I have less resistance to the assholes, and when I stumble upon them, my instinct is to leave the situation – disengage. You can’t change them, so there is no reason to stay.

It’s important to remember that no one person has the same exact experiences or perspective as you. Nobody knows the monsters of your past, the people you’ve run into along the way… It is your human right to set boundaries, stand up for yourself, and protect yourself in situations. The goal in life is to find the people who respect and support you for leaving that room or conversation.

I am thankful for them this holiday – the angels that sweep in and tell you everything is going to be okay.

A new chapter has begun, and my past struggles have made me appreciate the people who love me. To you all I say ‘thank you.’ I am grateful for you this holiday. With your help, I’ve become a fighter and will never give up.

Here is a video for you: Kid President: Pep Talk

“Create something that will make the world awesome!”

-Estella Grace

Leave a Reply

