Flapper Girl…

The Civil Wars – Dance Me to the End of Love

I was told in a past life I was a 1940’s flapper girl. A light-haired beauty with lilac eyes and a lilac dress. I was asked if I surround myself with the color lilac. I glance over at my lilac bag, my lilac scarf, and my new lilac jeans. I giggle.

When I was 7 years old I loved to tap dance, annoying my father in the kitchen late at night until I got my routines down. It came natural to me. I sang and for those who read my memoir know of my Broadway dreams. The stage – I always sought it out singing showtunes from my bedroom window. Recently I discovered a new dance move evolving into my old ones flapping my arms. Perhaps I have been influenced by some other flapper girls in my life.

The Flapper Girl –  ah yes, this makes perfect sense to who I am and why I am obsessed with the 1920 – 1940’s time period. It might also explain this blog, my non-traditonal views on marraige and sex, my love for the bottle, the French influence in my life, and my obsession with old scents, piano bars, and Billie Holiday.

I found this article on the flapper girls of the 1920’s from Wikipedia…

Actress Louise Brooks (1927)

Flappers were a “new breed” of young Western women in the 1920s who wore short skirts, bobbed their hair, listened to jazz, and flaunted their disdain for what was then considered acceptable behavior. Flappers were seen as brash for wearing excessive makeup, drinking, treating sex in a casual manner, smoking, driving automobiles and otherwise flouting social and sexual norms.[1]

Flappers had their origins in the liberal period of the Roaring Twenties, the social, political turbulence and increased transatlantic cultural exchange that followed the end of World War I, as well as the export of American jazz culture to Europe.

So now I ask the question, what flapper girl was I and who was the man who would frequent my stage?

Was I her?

or Alice White?

1920s twenties vintage flapper painted girl art 20s

Or perhaps I was this mystery girl in the painting.

Souls, past lives, this is a new discovery to me, sharing conversation with other friends of mine, bar girls in past lives. I think we are all in some way connected – part of our soul’s journey. I may never find the blonde beauty with the lilac eyes, but I shall dance to the day I die…to flappers and potations!

Estella Grace ♥ ♥

Leave a Reply

