Jade is the Girl of the Hour – I Knew a Guy Once…

Jade – Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros

Has someone ever come into your life that reminds you of a past relationship? Sometimes it’s not even you who figures it out first – it’s from a close friend, someone whose known you for awhile. This happened to me recently and the man who entered my life was exactly like a guy I once knew, Justin.

I recall a conversation we had a long time ago. He said “My whole life I’ve been making everyone else happy…you’re the first girl who made me happy and I don’t know how to do that.” (Fix You: A Jersey Memoir)

It’s funny because I finally understood what he meant that day many years later and it came in the form of a person just like him, except this guy knew exactly what he wanted in life and I was the girl of the hour…

Life is strange, how it brings new people into your life giving you perspective on the old. I can’t tell you how long I was seeking that answer. And yes Justin was right at the time, he said we were too much alike, I just didn’t get it until now – because apparently, “I don’t know how to do that either.”

It’s like learning to ride a bike. It’s awkward, uncomfortable, and sometimes it’s just easier to walk. Baby steps…

Estella G.

Leave a Reply

