Song from the Last Scene of My Memoir, Fix You – Dream By Priscilla Ahn

Music is very important to me and I mentioned many songs and artists in my book. I brought in music to help the reader relate to that time in my life and what I was going through and listening too. I think music has a way of bringing people into a scene, like a great film or play. This was my way of combining the two with writing. Here are some of the songs mentioned in my memoir.

Fix You by Coldplay

Daughters by John Mayer

Born to Run by Bruce Springsteen

Once in Love with Amy by Sinatra

Time After Time by Cindy Lauper

Happy Ending by Avril Lavigne

I’m Not Okay by My Chemical Romance

Material Girl by Madonna

Konstantine by Something Corporate

I Will Survive by Gloria Gaynor

Cleaning out my Closet by Eminem

In the last scene I am on the beach sharing a moment with my mother. I was listening to a song on my iPod that wasn’t mentioned.

The scene begins…

“I park near the beach and walk barefoot onto the sand. I sit down and look out over the vast ocean.  I take a deep breath closing my eyes and whisper, “I did it…” I followed my dream of moving to California and not because I was running away from anyone; I did for me.”

This was the song I was listening too…

Dream a dream,

Amy Passantino

Leave a Reply

