Ignorance is not always Bliss – Food, Inc.

I guess I could sit here all day and point out the problems with corporations, but after watching Food, Inc., I am just plain LIVID! I can’t believe that some of the most important decisions of our food industry were made by powerful upper exec’s who knew nothing about the repercussion of their actions. Obesity, cancer, diabetes…the list goes on with America’s increasingly poor health that is caused by an industry solely run on producing shit-food at cheap prices.

I have never been an activist of any sort, but after seeing this documentary I am considering a career change. I am officially speaking out against Perdue, Tyson, and Monsanto. These evil corporations are modern-day Nazis hiring servicemen to harass farmers while slapping them with huge lawsuits. It’s appalling that “their” farmers by contract are too ashamed to show their facilities to the camera because they are so inhumane. Isn’t this America’s food they’re hiding, yet behind closed doors hundreds of chickens can’t even walk because they are so pumped full of antibiotics to make them have bigger breast meat?! Because that is what Americans want, right?!

Would you eat a chicken that can’t even move?! Nobody would and half of them are living in pens without windows and dozens of them die before they even get slaughtered because they can’t support their own body weight.

When did America’s food requests get so out of control that we needed to create a chicken that could have more white meat?! Are you fucking kidding me? These aren’t even real animals anymore, they are clones created to fit a stupid market study at Perdue’s corporate headquarters. I am not a chicken eater, but I will swear these companies off forever for their despicable acts of animal breeding and cruelty. And let’s not forget about McDonalds actually changing the “quality of cow” that is being produced since they are the largest meat purchaser in the country. So the only quality of steak we will  be able to purchase is the same meat that goes into a quarter pounder with cheese?!

This documentary was made four years ago so I’m hopeful that there has been some progress made, but the idea of these larger corporations owning an entire industry has to change.

I have a cooking blog (onceinlovewithamy) and food is very important to me. So I am constantly sharing recipes that are made with fresh ingredients at affordable prices. I promise to keep promoting foods that are good for our health and the environment. I am a huge advocate of Trader Joes and I just posted a recipe for Kale just the other day that I bought from there.

Recipe: Kale & Apple Side Dish

It’s important to know what you are buying and eating. Every decision we make affects everything else around us. Support the small farms and grow your own food. Let’s choose healthy for the planet, the animals, and the people. ♥

– Estella Grace

3 thoughts on “Ignorance is not always Bliss – Food, Inc.

  1. SauczeyGal says:

    Reblogged this on SauczeyGal's Blog and commented:
    This post is written by an Interior Designer that I used to work with. It’s a well written heartfelt opinion. It’s also reflective of some of the same thoughts we have had lately. Enjoy.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Bravo! I totally agree with everything said here. Lets start changing the united states even if it’s one voice at a time. Help the freedom of animals help us!

Leave a Reply

