And the sun will shine again…The Facebook effect on relationships

My song dedication to Ed.

Rihanna – We Found Love

I just recently exited out of a relationship. I don’t know how stealth my exit was, but I guess I felt I was living a lie – victim of a Facebook crime. The guy, let’s call him Ed, put a Facebook label on our relationship without asking me in person first.

When I received the notification from Ed that he declared me as his girlfriend it sent a spiral of emotions through me. First I thought, we hadn’t even discussed this?! Then I was flattered and then I thought what if I didn’t accept the request, would I have lost him for good? In my mind hundreds of his friends had already seen it, creating additional pressures on top of going from casually “seeing” one another to a full-blown relationship. With hours of hesitation I clicked YES giving in to a website. (Idiot!) Clearly we were not on the same page.

I guess you could say we fell in love in a hopeless place as the Rihanna song goes, so I accepted the request. Another month went by and sadly the status on my homepage was eating at me every time I logged on. I am living a lie! I never agreed to this! but I did through an online notification. What happened to the good ol’ days when we talked about things?

My conclusion: If you want me to be your girlfriend please ask me in person first. I guess I’m just old school like that…

– Estella Grace

Leave a Reply

