My Half Year Resolution…Let’s just pretend it’s June.

Well, I finally did it! I took the leap and started my own writing blog. A blog where I could solely be me, the girl behind the name – Estella Grace.

No, that’s not my real name, it’s my pen name. Estella means star, “Star of Grace.”  I came up with this alter ego about a year ago because I aspired to be her. I pictured this woman to be out of the 1940’s – a housewife with utter grace and poise wearing dresses and heels to clean the house. I mean she could have a dark side – a side of her that she could never show, perhaps I am that girl…

I was born and raised in northern New Jersey around glass half empty conversations. I am a tomboy at heart wearing sweatshirts and jeans. I speak my mind. I live for music and am always working on myself, constantly evolving into the person I am most afraid to be; the writer – the artist.

Writing can be scary, sharing a piece of your soul with the world. It’s frightening for me, which is why I put this blog off for so long, but I almost forgot – I wrote a book, a memoir of my life story and it’s about to come out. I will talk more about that later, but for now this is my introduction to you.

I write from the heart: the emotion of what I am trying to feel and convey to the reader, rather than the grammatical. I am not perfect and I revel in imperfections because that is what makes the world go round. I am not married, I eat a lot of cheese danish, (2 today), and I love to karaoke, but I will put my best foot forward with my writings and make baby steps toward becoming Estella Grace. I imagine her to be kind and selfless.

Let’s mark it on the calender, shall we? August 14th, (what the heck?) as my half year resolution, to become nicer, kinder to those around me and most of all toward myself. I tend to be my own worst enemy, a victim of low self-esteem. I would like to believe in people more, giving them the benefit of the doubt for their flightiness, and to laugh when I spill things.

Here’s to life and tapping into what is real. Estella Grace here I come!

– Amy Passantino

One thought on “My Half Year Resolution…Let’s just pretend it’s June.

Leave a Reply

